Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Volume One (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries, #1-3)

Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries Volume One (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries, #1-3)

Publication Date: January 16, 2012

Publisher: JA / AG Publishing

Pages: 646

Format: Kindle Edition

Author: Ashley Gardner

4.10 of 430

Download PDF

Download ePub

A collection of the first three novels in the Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries series plus two Captain Lacey short stories originally published in mystery magazines.

The Hanover Square Affair (Book 1)
A Regimental Murder (Book 2)
The Glass House (Book 3)
"The Disappearance of Miss Sarah Oswold" (short story)
"The Gentleman’s Walking Stick" (short story)

Meet Captain Gabriel Lacey, a half-pay cavalry officer who returns to Regency London from the Napoleonic Wars with little money and no purpose, but with a sense of honor and fairness. He’s pulled into a search for a missing young woman, and thus begins investigating crime, using his status as a gentleman--albeit a poor one--to cross the boundaries between the top of society and the working class of the back streets.

In The Hanover Square Affair, a missing girl and horrific corpse plunge Captain Lacey into the dark underworld of Regency London.

In A Regimental Murder, Captain Lacey is on hand to save the life of a beautiful widow, then investigates the death of her husband, a colonel who had been accused of murdering a cavalry officer during the Peninsular War.

In The Glass House, Lacey investigates the death of a barrister’s young wife, and links her to a notorious brothel where the haut ton play.

Two short stories finish off the collection. In “The Disappearance of Miss Sarah Oswald,” Lacey is asked to locate a man’s missing daughter, though he senses that the family would be just as happy for her to remain missing. In “The Gentleman’s Walking Stick,” Lacey untangles a web of deceit involving a respectable society man, his only clue being a missing walking stick.

0 Share 0 Share 0 Share 0 Share